Can you substitute half and half for buttermilk?

The best substitute for buttermilk is milk to which white vinegar or lemon juice has been added & allowed to sit for five minutes to sour the milk. Half and half, regular or fat-free, is a different dairy product. However, sour cream is also used to sub in recipes as a richer, creamier alternative.