What is a neck in parts?

What is a neck in parts? The content of the neck is grouped into 4 neck spaces, called the compartments. Vertebral compartment: contains cervical vertebrae and postural muscles. Visceral compartment: contains glands (thyroid, parathyroid, and thymus), the larynx, pharynx and trachea.