Who did karen carpenter merry?

After a quick romance, she married real-estate developer Thomas James Burris on August 31, 1980, in the Crystal Room of the Beverly Hills Hotel. Burris was divorced with an 18-year-old son, and was nine years older than her. divorced in 1983