Are sand dollars rare?

The white sand dollars we commonly see, are actually the skeletons of their live sand dollars. Alive, they are dark grayish in color and the top is smooth with a hairy, pinkish looking bottom. The hairy projections are how the sand dollars move around the bottom of the water they are in.