What's the difference between vegan butter and margarine?

While butter is made from churning cream from a cow, margarine is made by mixing vegetable oils with water, salt, and emulsifiers until it's got the consistency of butter. ... Vegan butter therefore is a type of dairy-free margarine that's got all of the fat with none of the milk.