Why is jackfruit so expensive?

Expense comes from a variety of things. Jackfruit is the largest fruit on earth & that means lots of water. Then shipping costs are much higher. It goes from nicely ripe to too spoiled to eat in just a few days so no large supermarkets stock it. Consider it a luxury item for an acquired taste.