How do you prune an aloe plant?

Cut older, outer leaves as close as possible to the main stem at the base of the plant. Remove dead, dying or yellow leaves, then remove any leaves growing in an undesirable way. Damaged tips can be cut away, but will leave a visible scar or discoloration.