Are elephants endangered?

Yes. Elephants are endangered in both Africa and Asia, where they are still being hunted and poached for their ivory tusks. In Africa, elephant populations have drastically declined from millions to less than 420,000 in 2019. In Asia, the elephant population is less than 50,000.