What year was the waffle cone invented?

1904. Although Marchiony is credited with the invention of the cone, a similar creation was independently introduced at the 1904 St. Louis World's Fair by Ernest A. Hamwi, a Syrian concessionaire. Hamwi was selling a crisp, waffle-like pastry - zalabis - in a booth right next to an ice cream vendor.