What happened to barry allen?

The Flash has traditionally always had a significant role in DC's major company wide reboot stories, and in the crossover Crisis on Infinite Earths #8 (November 1985), Barry Allen died saving the Multiverse, removing the character from the regular DC lineup for 23 years