What's the scientific name of the moon?

According to NASA "Earth's only natural satellite is simply called "the Moon" because people didn't know other moons existed until Galileo Galilei discovered four moons orbiting Jupiter in 1610."

---

Believe it or not, the official name of Earth's moon is "The Moon." Sometimes, in scientific papers, it's referred to as Luna (or occasionally Selene), simply as a convenience to distinguish it from other moons in our solar system.