When was d. n. a. technology developed?

Technology utilizing changed DNA for medical reasons began in 1972 with the first successful recombinant DNA recorded. This research was furthered for human use in 1977 when the first human proteins produced by a genetically altered bacterium utilizing DNA technology was performed by Genentech.