What is the animal food chain?

An animal food chain explains how animals feed in a sequence. Insects feed on nectar from flowers or in some cases, other insects. Birds, in turn, feed upon the insects and then larger predators like wild cats and coyotes feed upon birds. This is an example of a 'food chain'.