What is the light spell in harry potter?

The wand-lighting spell in the Harry Potter stories is the word lumos, [l u m o s]. The charm is used to light the tip of the wizard's wand. The word lumos borrows from the Latin word, Lumen, which is defined as a light, or an opening.