How did nick fury lose his eye?

Spoiler alert. Spoiler alert. Nick Fury lost his eye at the end of the movie, Captain Marvel, when it was scratched by an alien life form known as a Flerken. The Flerken looked like an earth cat.

---

A cat did it

---

Nick Fury was playing with the very good kitty Goose, when the cat also a Flerken scratched the eye right out of his head