What was the sherman firefly?

The Sherman Firefly was a tank used by the United Kingdom and some other Allied armoured formations in the Second World War. It was based on the US M4 Sherman, but was fitted with the more powerful 3-inch (76.2 mm) calibre British 17-pounder anti-tank gun as its main weapon.