When is the coliseum?

The Colosseum was built starting in 72 CE and was completed in 80 CE with the first event being held in 80 or 81 CE. It lasted as a functioning amphitheater until the end of the early 5th century CE but continued to be used in various manner until roughly the 1200's CE.