When did men start wearing underwear?

Men started wearing underwear when they first started wearing "outerwear" or long pants or trousers. Changing underwear was better than having to change the outerwear frequently.

---

The first known underwear dates back almost 7000 years, when prehistoric man used leather to cover and protect his loins while running prehistoric errands. Ancient Egyptian art shows everyone from the pharaohs on down the line decked out in loincloths of their own