What is the r. rating stand for?

An “R” rating means “Restricted,” and that “under 17 requires an accompanying parent or adult guardian,” according to the Motion Picture Association film ratings. Such a movie “contains some adult material. Parents are urged to learn more about the film before taking their young children with them.”