What color is a polar bear's hair?

Polar bears have white fur so that they can camouflage into their environment. Their coat is so well camouflaged in Arctic environments that it can sometimes pass as a snow drift. Interestingly, a polar bear's skin is black and its hairs are hollow.

---

It is translucent and reflects the color of the snow; sort of like how fiber optic cables can transmit light and color.