Why is a hotdog called the hotdog?

The term was current at Yale in the fall of 1894, when "dog wagons" sold hot dogs at the dorms. The name most likely began as a joke about the Germans' small, long, thin dogs. In fact, even Germans called the frankfurter a "little-dog" thus linking the word "dog" to their popular concoction.