What type of nut is used to make a lasso?

A lasso is made by passing the end of the rope through a rope loop, repeat with the other end of the rope, tighten & pass the end through the first loop, hold and pull to tighten, the first loop should shrink and tighten, pass the long end through the remaining loop, the knot is now complete.