How many different categories of hurricanes are there?

5 categories, corresponding to wind speed. Category 1: Winds 74 to 95 mph, some damage. Category 2: Winds 96 to 110 mph, extensive damage. Category 3: Winds 111 to 129 mph, devastating damage. Category 4: Winds 130 to 156 mph, catastrophic damage. Category 5: Winds 157+ mph, catastrophic damage.