What are the bubbles in boiling water?

These bubbles are water vapor. When you see water at a "rolling boil," the bubbles are entirely water vapor. Water vapor bubbles start to form on nucleation sites, which are often tiny air bubbles, so as water starts to boil, the bubbles consist of a mixture of air and water vapor.