How long should i thaw a frozen turkey?

Soaking in water, an unwrapped bird should take 30 minutes for every pound. You should change the water every 30 minutes for safety. If you will be thawing your Thanksgiving bird in a refrigerator, you should give yourself a minimum of 24 hours for every 5 lbs of frozen bird.