How do you know when grapes are ripe?

A ripe grape is plump, juicy and pulls easily from the cluster. An underripe grape is smaller and harder. An overripe grape will start to shrivel. In many varieties, both stems and seeds will turn brown as they ripen. Once picked, grapes will not change in sweetness or color.