What is the baby paradox?

Mrs. Jones has two children, the older child is a girl. What is the probability the younger child is a girl? Answer: 1 in 2. Mrs. Smith has two children, at least one child is a boy. What is the probability both children are boys? Answer: 1 in 3. This paradox is based on conditional probability.