Where is dragon fruit come from?

Dragon fruit, or the pitaya, are the fruit of cacti native to Central America and northern parts of South America. The dragon fruit is now cultivated in Southeast Asia, southern California, Florida, Caribbean, Australia, and other tropical and subtropical world regions.