What places are the pokemon regions based on?

The places the pokemon regions are based on varies: Kanto, Johto, Hoenn, and Sinnoh are based on different parts of Japan; Unova is based on New York City; Alola is based on Hawaii; Kalos is based on France; Galar is based on the United Kingdom; and Paldea is based on the Iberian Peninsula.