What is the three days of darkness?

The Three Days of Darkness is a prophecy held by some Catholics and other Christians. It foretells of three days of darkness over the earth and that during the darkness the only light will come from blessed beeswax candles. Some also believe that the enemies of Christianity will perish at this time.