How many people does five pounds of potatoes serve?

The USDA's National Nutrient Database assumes a portion size of 1 cup for mashed potatoes, which checks in at 210 grams or just under a half pound. Therefore, five pounds will feed about ten people.

---

5 lbs of potatoes will yield approximately 10 servings.