What's a deuter agonist?

A deuteragonist, spelled D-E-U-T-E-R-A-G-O-N-I-S-T, is a secondary protagonist; that is, the second most important person in a drama. It can be the primary hero's sidekick, romantic interest, or any other sort of ally.