How many whales are in the atlantic ocean?

Currently, it is believed 30,000 to 40,000 humpback whales are left or about 30 percent of their original population. Bowhead Whales: It is estimated that there are about 8,000-12,000 bowhead whales world-wide. Bowhead whales are an endangered species.