When was language invented?

The origin of when languages began is still a question thats stumped people even since the egyption time period. Some believe that through god we were already equipped to be able to communicate, others say during the homo erectus era, which dates back 1.8 million years ago.

---

Due to a lack of direct evidence, scholars have been unable to reach a consensus on this topic. Estimates range from as short as 100,000 years ago to as long as 5 million. For more information, Wikipedia has an extensive article on this topic entitled, "Origin of language".