What were yo-yos originally used for?

The first historical mention of the yo-yo was from Greece in the year 500 B.C., and they were used for child’s play and as offerings to the Greek gods. It was customary, when a child turned of age, to offer toys of their youth to certain gods. Fragile terra cotta yo-yos were used for that purpose.