Are there bears in south dakota?

Bears were once common in the region, but they disappeared from the Black Hills of South Dakota several years ago. ... However, in recent years black bears have been confirmed across the state line in the Bear Lodge Mountains in Wyoming, which are part of the Black Hills National Forest