What's a p. c. l. sprain?

The posterior cruciate ligament (PCL) is located inside your knee joint. It can become injured when the ligament is torn or stretched. If the injury is not a tear, it referred to as a sprain. This type of injury is also called a hyperextended knee.

---

A PCL injury (which may also be called hyperextended knee) is a partial or complete tearing or stretching of any part of the posterior cruciate ligament. The PCL is usually injured by overextending the knee (hyperextension). This can happen if you land awkwardly after jumping.