How do you get rid of a elf on the shelf?

Elf on the Shelf dolls are bonded to their owner. If you get rid of your elf, you will be cursed. The only way to get rid of one without the curse is to take it to a voo doo priestess. Alternatively, Santa Claus can release the curse. However, it's easier to find a voo doo priestess.