Why does a sloth move slow?

Sloths move slow because of their diet, the leaves they eat don’t give them much energy.

---

Like pacing your car when it's low on gas, sloths move slowly to conserve energy as well. In fact, they move slower than any other mammal on Earth. Sloths have little energy at their disposal for darting around at fast speeds because of their herbivorous diet.