How do you know when red bananas are ripe?

They do change color, just not so obviously as normal bananas. There's a slight greenish tint that disappears as they ripen, and the red becomes a bit deeper (some people say purplish). They also get softer - including the skin getting more tender, just like a yellow banana skin.