Is peppercorn a seed?

Peppercorns are a tiny fruit of a flowering vine known as piper nigrum, grown in tropical regions, native to the Indian subcontinent and in Southeast Asia.

---

Peppercorn is actually a fruit. Peppercorns are berries that grow on Piper nigrum, a flowering vine in the family Piperaceae. There are three varieties of true peppercorns: black, green, and white. Pink and Sichuan peppercorns are not actually related to the berries that grow on Piper nigrum.