What's a hard italian cheese?

Two examples of some hard italian cheese are Parmigiano-reggiano (or better known as Parmesan) and Pecorino Romano. A hard cheese is very firm. Most of the whey is separated and drained before pressing the curd which is then brined to create a hard rind or wax.