How many kinds of tea are there?

The primary types of tea are black tea, green tea, white tea, oolong tea, pu-erh tea, purple tea, and herbal infusions. There are, however, countless possible types of teas. If you're new to tea, the many different types and varieties of tea can seem confusing & overwhelming.