Is titanium dioxide edible?

There is a food grade titanium dioxide that is used for various things such as food color, skin care, teeth whitening products, candy, gum, etc. and to prevent or slow down spoilage of specific foods. Safe to eat? The medical and science community says it depends on amount consumed.