How do you get birds off your shoulder in minecraft?

A parrot dismounts its player's shoulder when the player does not land on a high enough surface (1⁄2 block up or higher), drops off a ledge of higher than 3⁄4 of a block, takes damage, submerges their feet into water, or submerges their head in lava.