What is an article of speech?

Like adjectives, articles modify nouns. English has two articles: the and a/an. “The” is used to refer to specific or particular nouns; “a/an” is used to modify non-specific or non-particular nouns. We call “the” the definite article and “a/an” the indefinite article.