What is the temperature of a soft boil?

At the soft-ball stage, sugar and water boil to 240–250 degrees Fahrenheit, and the sugar syrup contains about 90 percent sugar. For some candies, the soft-ball stage is just one step in the candy-making process. For other sweets, such as fudge and pralines, the soft-ball produces the end result.