Who created the first state?

While Virginia was 1st to ratify the Articles of Confederation in 1777, Delaware became the 1st modern US state when it ratified the US Constitution in 1787. The 5 Delawareans at the Constitutional Convention were Richard Bassett, Gunning Bedford, Jr., Jacob Broom, John Dickinson, and George Read.