Are all deserts hot?

Not all deserts are hot. Deserts are generally characterized by receiving less than 25cm or 10in of precipitation per year. Polar deserts exist in both the Arctic and Antarctic regions. Antarctica averages just 166mm or 6.5in of precipitation per year, with an average temperature of -57°C or -67°F.