Why is rhode island called rhode island?

Its official name is State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations. It came from the merger of four Colonial settlements. Two settlements were situated on what is commonly called Aquidneck Island today but was called Rhode Island in Colonial times. So part of the state is located on an island.